Das Kapital: Vol. 1 – Karl Marx

Upon waking up this morning I was struck with a though, “What this world needs, especially in our present moment of political excitement, is a healthy dose of Karl Marx! People should be reading Capital vol. 1.” And what do you know, upon my morning wanderings the blogosphere, I stumbled across a series of video lectures by David Harvey ( David Harvey is a Distinguished Professor at the City University of New York (CUNY) and author of various books, articles, and lectures, which can be found linked on his site. He has been teaching Karl Marx’s Capital for nearly 40 years) exploring Vol. 1 of this very book. I know, I couldn’t believe it either! What a coincidence, or dare I say providential moment (actually I won’t dare, I’ll just stick with coincidence. There has been enough misguided melding of divine action and our daily events in the recent presidential campaigns to send half the country to hell in a hand-basket)?

In all honesty, I just happened to find this class through checking out blogs on people’s blogrolls. But regardless, taking up the challenge of reading vol. 1 should be good for everyone, and it can even be done at your own pace. I just got my copy today and am going to try and start lecture 1 tonight. I would encourage anyone else who might be interested to try and work their way through the class as well. While I can’t promise that it will be fun, it will certainly be informative and worth the time that it will require.

The lecture site is linked above, but it can also be found on my blog roll along with the blog of Laura Gonzalez, from whom I found out about the class.

0 Responses to “Das Kapital: Vol. 1 – Karl Marx”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

